Indoor use of BS

Started by shrew, January 14, 2006, 07:37:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shrew

I am new to the BS smoking game. I have smoked in an other type of smoker, the kind with the fire box on the side. But wanted one that I could just drink beer and watch instead of tend fire and then drink beer. My question is this; can the BS be used in an enclosed area like a garage with ventilation? the instruction sheet said for outdoors only? I know that this may be a dumb question, how much does the outside temp effect the smoker in the winter? is it hard to keep it at the set or desired temp setting out in the cold or wind? as we have alot of wind in this part of the country[xx(]

JJC

Welcome, Shrew.  You picked the best beer-drinkin'smoker around (doesn't BS stand for Beer Smokin'?)

Even though the BS is insulated, it's still affected a bit by the outside temp and wind.  However, even on breezy, 0-10F days I haven't had trouble getting the smoker up to 210-220.  I rarely need to smoke anything at a higher temp than that.  If it's windy, you might want to set it up on the leeward side of your house or on a covered porch.

As for ventilation, you can use your garage if the door is open and the smoker is near the door.  Another option is to vent the smoker out the window or wall of the garage as some Forum members have done (and posted).  The main thing you're trying to do with the ventilation is keep the smoke out of your lungs.

John
Newton MA
John
Newton MA

shrew

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by JJC</i>
<br />Welcome, Shrew.  You picked the best beer-drinkin'smoker around (doesn't BS stand for Beer Smokin'?)