Thinking of buying a 6 rack digital smoker - have some questions first

Started by Regulator7, March 05, 2012, 08:14:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Regulator7

Morning all,

I'm thinking of getting the 108P (6 rack digital) smoker and have a few questions.  First, I have never used an electric smoker so my knowledge is limited to what I have read on this forum.  I have been smoking with charcoal and wood for over 20 years now. I currently have a Brinkmann Smoke 'N Pit King that is heavily modified.  I still love it, but the constant attention it requires is getting old. So here are my questions about the 108P

1.  I have seen a lot of posts about people replacing/modifying the heating elements.  Is that because of issues with the standard element or just the desire to make the unit better?
2.  I see that some folks have had problems with the puck loader. Have those issues been fixed by Bradley yet?
3.  How well does the unit hold temps below 190 degrees?
4.  How much of an impact have people seen when smoking in cool weather (below 50 degrees) or windy conditions?

Thanks,

Jim K.
AKA Regulator 7
Be well,

Jim K.
AKA Regulator7

Char-broil Quantum 3-burner IR Grill
Big Easy 1600
Brinkmann Smoke 'N Pit King
Weber 22" Kettle
Wood pit for whole hog and such

"Coals, smoke, meat and beverages - Life is great"

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: Regulator7 on March 05, 2012, 08:14:29 AM
Morning all,

I'm thinking of getting the 108P (6 rack digital) smoker and have a few questions.  First, I have never used an electric smoker so my knowledge is limited to what I have read on this forum.  I have been smoking with charcoal and wood for over 20 years now. I currently have a Brinkmann Smoke 'N Pit King that is heavily modified.  I still love it, but the constant attention it requires is getting old. So here are my questions about the 108P