Ahhhhhhh ya made me go and do it.

Started by Bear1968, March 27, 2012, 03:12:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bear1968

Hi All!!!!!   :D

I have been sneaking around this forum for quite some time checking out many of the tips, rubs, brines, sauces and methods posted here but today I am officially a Bradley owner so I figured I better register and introduce myself!
I checked out some of the other intro threads and saw that the community wants to see "More Pic's" and "More about yourself" so I will try to do a good job of that.
My name is Bear and I am a Union Commercial Carpenter from New Castle PA USA. I fell in love with smoking about 30 years ago when a buddy and I built a ground smoker to try and smoke trout. Basically it was two holes dug into a hillside and connected with a piece of clay pipe with a smoldering fire in one that we choked in one hole and trout hanging in the uphill hole. We got the idea from a book or magazine we read many moons ago. I thought it to do a good job but our parents still made us finish the trout in the oven  :'(
Since then I have smoked in home made smokers as well as store bought smokers but they have all been wood or charcoal fired.

*Old Faithful*
I used to do things that I though were pretty easy like Fish and sausage and every once in a while I would do a Pork But for Pulling but when I started surfing the internet it opened up up a whole new door for me! I eventually found this site and got some GREAT info off of it for things like Tilapia, Disney Turkey Legs and Deer Hams.

*Candied Salmon, Sweet and Spicy Talapia and Killer Smoked Baby Back Ribs (finished on a grill of course)*