Belly Bacon Virgin

Started by JZ, September 21, 2012, 11:03:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JZ

I got a side of pork from my neighbor and it's been in the freezer for a couple of months. I checked out the pack that says "bacon for smoking" and felt ice crystals in the package. So I think I better smoke this before it gets freezer burned. Here are a couple of pix of the 6 lb slab that I pulled out and put into the fridge overnight to thaw out. There is one more slab that is a little smaller, but I don't want to smoke it at the same time as this one, just in case this one doesn't turn out great. :(

]

]

My neighbor wants me to smoke some of his slabs at the same time but since this is my first time, I told him he better wait to see how this turns out.  ::)

More pix to come.

Consooger

are you curing or brining this or just rolling smoke on this.
are you seasoning this with anything?
"Telling you to invest in smoking your own jerky because buying it so much was getting way too expensive was the worst thing I could have ever done to us, now look at the monster I have created!" :-)
               -My Wife

JZ

I have read quite a lot of threads and have 2 books with recipes and I think I will try this one first, since it has had many good reviews on this site.

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=6770.msg66218#msg66218

I just found out that we don't have any maple syrup so I am going to have to drive into town to get some. Hope our local grocery store has some or I will have to try another recipe.

Seems that most recipes I have read call for a dry cure so I think that is the route I will take. After 5 to 7 days or whenever it gets firm I am going to smoke it for 3 hrs with either apple or pecan .... not sure yet.  But I am open to suggestions!  :) Not sure if I will take the internal temp to 150 either, I have seen some posts where the bacon is taken to a lower temp. More stuff to think about on my way to the store.

rexster