Cheese...

Started by Smokesmore, March 31, 2014, 04:48:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smokesmore

I smoked about 4 different kinds of cheese on 2/15/14 and just opened a block of kraft sharp cheddar and it tastes like an ashtray. Am I too early or what is going on? I used hickory for two hours.  I love my dark smokey cheese I buy in the store but this tastes like ash. What did I do wrong?

I bloomed it for over an hour and vac sealed it to perfection.  Temps in the smoker were around 60-80 degrees. HELP!!!!

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Saber 4

Sounds like you did everything about the same as most of us do, I use apple or pecan for my cheeses, maybe the hickory was to strong for your tastes?

ragweed

I'm not a cheese expert, but from my limited experience, the harder the cheese, the longer it takes to "de-ash".  The cheddar I did took 6 wks.  I smoke with Apple and most of what I do now is great at about a month. Provolone and Cooper.

Tenpoint5

Wrap it back up in plastic wrap and wait for another week or 2. The sharp cheddar is a hard cheese and it will take longer. On the really hard cheeses I wait 2 months. I had a 3yr old cheddar that I let sit for a year before I opened it. That was like butter best cheese I have smoked yet
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

Salmonsmoker

Quote from: Smokesmore on March 31, 2014, 04:48:39 PM
I smoked about 4 different kinds of cheese on 2/15/14 and just opened a block of kraft sharp cheddar and it tastes like an ashtray. Am I too early or what is going on? I used hickory for two hours.  I love my dark smokey cheese I buy in the store but this tastes like ash. What did I do wrong?

I bloomed it for over an hour and vac sealed it to perfection.  Temps in the smoker were around 60-80 degrees. HELP!!!!