• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

New member (Total novice)

Started by kaf69, August 10, 2014, 03:14:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kaf69

Total novice here
Have always wanted a Bradley  smoke as long as I can remember.
Wife bought me one for my birthday, but buggered if I can get it right, everything that I smoke has a bitter after taste.
Nothing I smoke tastes like the smoked meats that you would buy in the shops.
I have tried salmon, chicken, beef, lamb and nothing smokes properly.
I have read that the secret is air flow, but there is no way to increase the air flow on the smoker.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Wildcat

Hmmmm. Is the top vent wide open? If it is closed moisture can build up and rain nasty tasting stuff down on your meats. How long are you actually applying smoke? It may take up to 24 hours to cook some things, but you will never need any more than 4 hours of smoke. It is possible you may be applying too much smoke for your taste. It also could be the type of wood you are using. Some woods are harsher in flavor than others. Try apple - it is relatively mild. Too truly help you out you will need to describe exactly what you did.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

KyNola

Like my friend WC, I'm betting it is the amount of smoke and the type of wood you are using.

Knowing more about your procedure would help us to debug your issue.

seb bot

Welcome from BC, hope you get you issues sorted out. If you post some more detail I am sure someone will be able to point you in the right direction.

Good luck :)

dman4505

Welcome aboard
Wildcat has given you some great tips
Please post more info on your process (time and temps, etc.) and we'll gladly help you get them corrected so you can enjoy some absolutely great food.

Don
"I am a soldier, I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight."