Smoked trout

Started by Jezziebella, June 04, 2006, 02:10:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jezziebella

Hey guys,
  I'm brand new to the BS and I'm a little intimidated, not only by the appliance, but by the forum as well.  (Seems to be quite the male domain.)  I can't quite figure out how to manuever the site and I hope I'm posting this right. 
   I've read lots of stuff about smoking trout but they all seem to be for bigger fish than I have.  Mine are only about a lb each and so far aren't filleted.  They'll be pretty teeny when I do, so won't that affect the length of time I should brine, etc?  What's a girl to do???? Please help :-*

BigSmoker

1st welcome aboard and we are here to help.  Lots of great people here.  I just don't do much fish so I'm no help there :'(.  There is a whole topic on fish.  If you read through it I bet you will find your answer.  I do like alder wood on fish myself.  Happy Smokin'.   
Some people say BBQ is in the blood, if thats true my blood must be BBQ sauce.

asa

Welcome Jezziebella. As a new Bradley user and a Forum lurker for many months, I can guarantee there's a lot of (gender-neutral) expertise waiting and willing to help you here. And if you happen to have a good recipe for Jezebel sauce, please share it with us. It is my favorite sauce for pork tenderloin, but I haven't tried it on any smoked pork yet. I figure with a handle like that, you might have an inside track on a really great recipe.

Art
Enjoy good Southern-style smoked barbecue -- it's not just for breakfast anymore!
Play old-time music - it's better than it sounds!
     And
Please Note: The cook is not responsible for dog hair in the food!!

Habanero Smoker

Jezziebella, welcome to the forum.

Have you seen this thread? http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=1025.0  Go towards the end of the first page and read my comments. My fillets were about 1/2" thick.