• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

New to smoking

Started by marc72777, November 20, 2014, 05:45:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

marc72777

Good morning,
I am new to smoking and have tried out my Bradley Digital a few times.  I'm about to smoke a pork shoulder but wasn't sure how long to use the hot smoker for.  I don't want a heavy pungent smoke flavor as I'm serving several people whom may not appreciate a rugged smokey flavor.  I was going to hot smoke with maple for 3-4 house @ 220, 0 hot smoker off and continue to cook until internal temp is 190?

Thoughts?

tailfeathers

Your plan looks good. I usually smoke for four hours and then just let the meat cook. Allow yourself plenty of time. I do my shoulders at 205F and allow around two hours per pound, they usually will pass the fork test by 180F. Insert a two tined meat fork and twist, if it turns easily the meat is done.  Depending on how soon you want to eat you can pull it right away or FTC it at that point. Wrap tightly in foil, then an old towel and put in the smallest cooler that will hold it. I also put a couple layers of newspaper on top before closing the cooler. You will find the meat will still be to hot to handle comfortably after 4 hours. This gives you a wide window in which to finish.  Good luck and keep us posted. We like pictures!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Where there's smoke, there's HAPPINESS!!!

tailfeathers

Be sure to use the fork test to ensure doneness. Even IT can vary from one hog to the next.

tailfeathers

Another thing is don't panic when you hit the "stall". You will find that the meat temp stops rising for a few hours, this is referred to as the stall period and is normal. Just be patient and the temp will resume slowly rising. Some have made the mistake of cranking up the chamber temp but it is unnecessary.

marc72777