takes 1 hour to get smoker up to temp..

Started by walleyeking48, November 22, 2014, 08:46:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

walleyeking48

I have the 6 rack digital.   Is this normal?  I have it inside my garage away from the wind and it's 42 degrees in the garage.  I am very green when it comes to smoking.  Ok actually it's my first time and I'm trying to smoke some St Louis ribs for the family after the GOPHERS football game. 

TedEbear

That depends.  Do you already have the ribs in the smoker?  If so, then that might be normal due to the cold meat, especially if you have a lot of ribs in there. If you started out with a bowl of cold water in the bottom and it is 42*F in the garage it is going to take a bit longer to reach the setpoint.  You can help things along by putting hot water in the bowl when preheating.  I've been running a modified version of my Bradley (two 500W elements) for so long I forgot how long it took to get up to temp when it was stock.

If you're just preheating it and the cabinet is still empty and it isn't even close to reaching the setpoint then I'd say it might not be normal.  Here are a few quick things to check if that's the case.

1. Do not use it with an extension cord.  I believe it states this in the owner's manual.
2. Keep the vent open, at least halfway or more.
3. Be sure all the plugs are fully seated.  The plugs on a new smoker are tight and it sometimes requires a little extra force to plug them in all the way.  Try unplugging each connector and reseating, with emphasis on pushing them in tight.
4. Is the 500W main element glowing red?  If not, there might be a loose connection inside the smoke generator.  If all the above doesn't solve the heat problem you can check the connections inside the SG.  Remove the perimeter screws on the SG and it opens up like a clamshell. Check each connection in there.  Unplug it from the wall outlet first, of course.   :)

walleyeking48