• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Clogged Smoke Generator stops after 2 hours

Started by Stu_McI, August 08, 2006, 07:03:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Stu_McI

I am starting to have a problem with the smoke generator on my smoker. After the smoke generator has been burning bisquettes for about 2 hours it stops working and the "bisquette pusher" gets jammed. The reason it gets jammed is that the bisquettes that are closest to the "pusher" get so damp that they disintegrate. Has anyone had this problem? It seems like the humid atmosphere inside the smoker is responsible for this but I'm not sure how to fix it. I often run my smoker with the damper open a very small amount because I don't want the meat to dry out too much. It may be that having the damper barely open is not a good choice and that I should open it a lot more to reduce the humidity. If I do that, will the meat dry out? You can tell I am new to this.

MallardWacker

Welcome STU !,

The theory that your meat will dry out if you leave the vent open is a little false when it comes to a Bradley.  Leaving the vent closed or close to being shut off could be and probably is the root of your problem.  If you are making something like chicken, I can guarantee you that is the issue.  YOU MUST VENT, ask those guys at the cookshack site, they don't have a vent and they get the "GOO" syndrome going, also you will get fluid coming out the bottom of the BS.  Always start your vent open to about 1/3, this will work for just about any thing you are doing.  HTH and don't make yourself a stranger.

SmokeOn,

Mike
Perryville, Arkansas

It's not how much you smoke but how many friends you make while doing it...

Stu_McI

You are absolutely right, I do get fluid coming out of the bottom after a few hours. I will open the vent next time and see if that eliminates the problem. Thanks for the quick and useful reply. Stu.

Habanero Smoker