• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

smoke vs cooking time

Started by primus, December 29, 2006, 12:03:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

primus

I've looked at several recipes. They all give 4 to 8 hours in the smoker. Is there any guide to length of time that the smoke generator actually produces smoke in the overall smoking process? For example I am told jerky takes 6 to 8 hours but only gets smoked for 2 or 3 hours and the rest of the time is drying time.

manxman

It is rare that the smoking process itself goes beyond 4 hours but it depends very much on what you are smoking, how you are smoking (cold v hot smoking) and personnal taste.

For example many people cold smoke their cheese for a couple of hours, I like mine cold smoked for 5 hours.

Perhaps the best thing is to come up with specific food you want to smoke (know you have mentioned jerk in another post, I have no experience of that) and then people can chip in with their personal preferences.  :)
Manxman

owrstrich

primus... i have the non digi bs... i can only comment on that on... i have no idea how the digi bs works...

other than prime ribbs and chicken rolls and stuff like that... almost all of my smokes are low and slow with a fully loaded box...

i will go either 4 or 5 hours of smoke in the begining... 4 hours of smoke on 24lbs of beast or less... 5 hours of smoke on 24lbs of beast ot more...

the beast can only absorb so musch smoke... after 4 or 5 hours if can mess up the taste in my opinion... others have scientific explinations... my explination is it can mess up the taste...

so when the last puck is wasted it is a good idea to empty the water bowl of the spent pucks and goo and fill it with fresh water... the water bowl will continue to collect goo but all pucks are spent so no ashtray taste...