Almost a firebox

Started by lesdom, September 30, 2004, 05:42:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lesdom

Newbie here. Tried my first smoke last night with disastrous results. Did the break-in for an hour thing and then was all excited and filled tower with 3 racks of ribs right out of the fridge which were rubbed down 2 days ago. After about an hour I checked on them and the power lights were out and there was a puddle of muck on the deck. Opened the door and it was as if someone hosed down the innards with a garden hose. Fuse had blown (try finding one at midnight). After dismantling the tower today found the mucky stuff found its way to the AC power connector on the inside and was shorting out. Burned up some insulation and toasted the connectors. Replaced connector and patched up the insulation. All is OK now - but - what happened? Temp outside was about 50F and smoker gauge said 200. I had the vent closed all the way. Is that the culprit? This could have been a real disaster.

nsxbill

Ouch!  I would definitely call Bradley to discuss.  First time I ever used my BS, and not knowing any different, had the vents closed.  As I waited nearby, smoke started spewing out of every open orifice<font color="red"> (to Chez and Fuzzybear-I am talking about the smoker cabinet)</font id="red">.  I cracked the vent at the top, and problem solved.  

Too late now, but I try to let my meat warm up close to room temp after a night in the refer.  The puddle on the deck you refer to is outside the BS, I assume.  Must have had a load of moisture and condensation coming off the meat!

I have never had to call Bradley, but understand they really give good service!

Terrible first experience for you.  Stay with it!  It really does a fine job on everything.  The only "failures" I have experienced were caused by my mishandling of the rub..putting on too thick.  Even that was recyclable by throwing in a chili pot.

Good luck!

Bill