This has been a very tough day

Started by acords, August 02, 2007, 03:59:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

acords

I'm sure by now you have all heard about the bridge collapse here in Minneapolis. All in all, I believe that we were very lucky.  At this point there are only 4 confirmed dead.  While I know that the number will rise, only 20-30 people remain missing.  The bridge collapsed around 6:00 PM Central time.  Four blocks away is the Metrodome where the Minnesota Twins had 1st pitch scheduled for 7:05.  It was the middle of rush hour traffic.  This could have been so much worse.  My future nephew is a firefighter in a nearby suburb.  His company was called to action.  I can't say for certain that Sean took these photos, but he emailed them to me this afternoon.  He also noted that he had photos he couldn't share at this time.  I can only assume what they are. As a truck driver, I crossed that bridge at least once per day if not more.  The Governor is trying to say that his goal is to have that bridge rebuilt in 1 year.  While I would remain hopeful for this, my best guess is 2+ years.  This is based on several engineer friends that I have.  140,000 cars crossed that bridge daily.  I just don't see this as a 1 year fix.  Anyway, here are the photos Sean emailed me

Please keep the families involved in your thoughts and prayers

Grab me another stout, or scotch, or martini, or........
http://www.yardandpool.com - for all your Bradley needs!
http://www.geocities.com/schleswignapa/ -for all your Bradley needs!

Oldman

Ya I saw this today in the paper... unreal... so sorry for those folks. Susan and my heart goes out to them.

Click On The Portal To Be Transported To Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes~~!!! 

Arcs_n_Sparks

Acords,