• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Requesting the infinite wisdom of this site!

Started by smokmifugotm, August 08, 2007, 03:25:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smokmifugotm

A BIG HELLO to everyone!  I am new to the whole world of smokers.  I look forward to learning so much from this site and one day in the future offering my experience back to others.  That being said, I have some questions I would like to ask.

1.  I guess first and foremost--Is there a need to go with a 6 rack instead of a 4 rack?  So, those of you with 4 racks, do you wish you had more?  Those of you with 6, do you ever need all of them?

2.  If I end up with the 4 rack--How does the digital smoker actually benefit me?  Or does it? 

3.  What will having a timer gain me?  Unless I am mistaken, couldn't you just put a certain amount of pucks in if you wanted a timed amount of smoke?

4.  Will I need to buy a digital thermometer on both the DBS and the OBS?

5.  How difficult is it to set the initial temperature when you are beginning to smoke?  Does it take a great deal of time to do so?

I want to take the time to thank everyone in advance for the knowledge and experience you have taken the time to share with me.  Hopefully, I will be able to offer something back in the future!

TAKE CARE!

Wildcat

1. I have the original in stainless (4 rack).  Have not used any more than 2 racks so far and that was more than enough for 4 people.

2. I found no use for the digital myself, but others on here swear by them.  You could build a PID for a lower cost and apparently it works better.  Personally, I am content without the electronics.

3. Can't answer that one but those that have the digital will probably chime in.

4. I would recommend the Maverick dual probe.  The cabinet gauge is very inaccurate on both models.

5. For the original there is a short learning curve but after a couple of smokes you should get the hang of it.