• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

New to All

Started by Kurt, November 25, 2007, 05:46:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kurt

I am looking to join the smoking world and have been looking at the DBS. I have been on this forum reading some of the different subjects. First, I love smoked pulled pork and know that I will be doing a lot of that. What cut of pork do you smoke and how do you make it "the pulled pork pieces." Also, I was reading Consiglieris posting on how to smoke ribs. The term FTC is mentioned as a magical trick. What does that mean? Again, I am very new to this and very eager to learn all there is to smoking and can't wait to own one. Will probably purchase the DBS4 soon. Live in Iowa though and has gotton very cold already so don't know when I will get to use it. Any help will be very much appriciated.

Arcs_n_Sparks

Kurt,

Welcome to the forum. For pulled pork, most use a pork butt (some will use a picnic). Many receipes around, but the key is low heat over many hours.

FTC means to Follow The Chicks....  :o Actually, FTC is Foil, Towel, Cooler. This is wrapping the meat up in foil, then in a towel, placed in a cooler. This keeps it hot and continues the cooking process until you have finished your adult beverage and are actually ready to eat.

Cold is no problem. Park that baby in the garage and vent it outside; you'll be smokin' in no time......

Arcs_n_Sparks

Consiglieri

Kurt: Welcome!

I knew nothing of this FTC thing before I started reading the posts here.  FTC stands for F(oil) T(owel) C(ooloer).  FTC is a passive cooking technique for resting your meat; it is also a very useful tool for making up the uncertainties in timing the finished smoking project.