What did I do wrong???

Started by flipperz71, February 16, 2008, 05:33:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

flipperz71

I am new to the forum, so please be gentle.. ;D

I had a 8lb pork butt (bone in)  I rubbed it and fridged it for 1 day, I left it out to room temp before puttin it in the smoker.  I had the somker preheated to 190-200 degrees and loaded for 8 hours of smoke.  Put butt in at 11:30pm and 7:30 am took it out.  The temp was around 197 degrees.  The butt was not done. 

The damper was open ~1/8 of the way
The outside temp was 24 degrees
Smoke was mesquite

I did not touch the butt after it was in,  I left it alone...

I am new to smoking big meats.  Usually I smoke cheese and sausage and it comes out fine.   I always make pulled pork bbq using a crockpot but had the bradley and thought what the heck... Now I am still saying "What the heck ??? "....

Great forum....

Flip

FLBentRider

When you say "not done" do you mean raw in the middle or just not up to your "pulled pork standards" ?

I always do my butts by internal temperature. Best case is 190, I'll pull them at a minimum of 170 if I have people waiting. I also have a temp probe for each Butt I put in. I have had 2 in and one of them take an additional 2 hours (they were similar in size)

Another thing I learned here was the FTC method - after you take the Butt out of the smoker, wrap in Foil, an old Towel, and put in a Cooler for at least a couple of hours.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

MRH