water pan?

Started by jimbot, April 04, 2008, 10:48:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jimbot

i have been useing a bradley for the last three years at my work,  not sure what model it is i only know that it looks more industrial,  the smoke chamber sits on a base that has the element and the puck feed/burn system in it.  anyway it had no instructions and i just learned how to use it with time so i knew nothing of putting the water in the puck catch tray.  i have just let the pucks burn away and all the product i smoke turns out fantastic!!  is this a bad thing?  should there be water in the pan? i have never had any issues and some say my smoked salmon is the best they ever had!  please shed some light on this for me!
thanx
jim

3rensho

Yes, there should be water in the pan where the burnt pucks drop.  The idea being that the pucks burn for 20 minutes on the burner plate giving smoke and burning longer can lead to bitter tasting components being generated if the wood completely burns to ash.  Also, on a safety note, the puck pan sits under the hole in the V plate where fat drips.  If you have dry, burning pucks in the pan and fat drops on to them then you risk a fire.

Tom
Somedays you're the pigeon, Somedays you're the statue.

Habanero Smoker

Hi jimbot;
Welcome to the forum.

It sounds as if you have the original. You can go to the Bradley site and download the manual. Which is not all that useful, but it would have anwered your questions. This is a PDF file so you will need acrobat reader installed on your computer to open and read the file.
http://www.bradleysmoker.com/Bradley%20Smoker%20Owners%20Manual.pdf

This a a quote from the manual:
"The Bradley Smoker is unique in that it produces smoke which is four
times cleaner than traditional burn-box chips*. Because it automatically extinguishes
the spent Bisquette, it prevents the formation of high temperature gases
and acids. In addition, the Bradley Smoker meets both North American and