Sausage Smokehouse Problem

Started by Staff, December 10, 2004, 02:45:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Staff

Hello. I have been smoking sausage for about 8 years now. I have two
smokers that I have hand build, one is made out of an old refridge and the another is build out of wood studs, insulated and lined with 1/4" thick
plate aluminum with inside dimentions are 2' wide, 2' deep and about 6' tall (inside dimentions). The problem that I have been running into from the first time I used it, is that the sausage that I smoke in it takes a long time to get up to the needed inside temp of 150 deg. The heating element has
no problem getting the smoker up to temp (150-160) but the sausage takes a long time to smoke. The other smoker that I have (refridge) takes about 8-10 hours to get the sausage up to temp. This is the cook time that I would like. The other takes 12 somtimes 14 hours! This gives the sausage a bad smell/taste sometimes. I have a 4" vent tube on top with a few other vents on the bottom to get good air circulation. I have an external smoke generator that is connected to the main unit with a 4" tube. Any ideas......???

BigSmoker

Are you applying smoke the entire 12-14 hrs?

Jeff
www.bbqshopping.com
Some say BBQ is in your blood, if thats true my blood must be BBQ sauce.
Some people say BBQ is in the blood, if thats true my blood must be BBQ sauce.

Staff

No.  I usually put smoke on the product for about 5-6 hours.  This is what turns out to be a good time in my other smoker.  I dry the casings first (for about an hour at 130) and then turn up the heat to 155 and apply smoke.

BigSmoker

Other than time do you follow the same procedure for both smokers?

Jeff
www.bbqshopping.com

Staff