• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Before I Go and Poison Myself

Started by JohniusMaximus, August 17, 2008, 10:38:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JohniusMaximus

So I want to try a recipe I found called Hillbilly Bacon.  Here's the basic recipe:

1 Boneless pork butt roast
1/2 Cup brown sugar
1/2 Cup Morton's Tender Quick**
1/2 Cup honey

Basically you slice the butt roast in half, rub on the cure mix, and let it got for 6-7 days.  The instructions in the recipe say to cook it in the smoker until it hits 140 degrees.  I just want to know if it'd be safe enough to do a cold smoke and then slice and fry it later on.  I'm new to the curing game and kinda hate to go against a recipe that specifically tells you to cook it to 140 degrees, but I tend to like cold smoked bacon a bit better.

Any thoughts?

KyNola

JM,
First of all welcome to the forum.  The first thing I want to bring to your attention is the use of Morton TQ.  If you are going to split the butt in half, you need to know how much each half weighs and make your cure mix to correspond with the weight of each half of the butt.  Essentially, one Tablespoon of TQ and one tablespoon of brown sugar per pound of meat.  You don't want to guess at the weight and amount of cure as you can do some damage to your family.

I'm going to yield to the true bacon experts here but I see no reason you couldn't cold smoke and fry later on as long as it has been properly cured.  Hopefully, Habs will come along shortly and give you his absolute expert advice.  Always yield to Habs when it comes to curing anything.  He is the best.

KyNola

pensrock

I agree with Kynola. Since there is cure in the meat it should be fine to cold smoke. Although I would probably follow the directions but only take the internal temp to 100-120. This way the meat is partially cooked and would fry up faster.

FLBentRider