GFI keeps triping

Started by berkeyre, September 04, 2008, 07:56:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

berkeyre

I have a new electric stainless steel smoker. Had a plug put on the deck next to the smoker that has a GFI. The GFI keeps triping. When plugged into a plug without a GFI it works fine.  GFI has been tested and is fine. Anybody else have this problem.  My e-mail is [email protected]

Tenpoint5

Im not an electrician by any means but it sounds like the GFI is rated too low for the amp's that are drawn from it to power the Bradley. So it is thinking that you are getting shocked and is tripping.
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

dick621

Its not unusual for a piece of equipment to trip a gfci , yet work in a regular outlet. A GFCI is designed to save lives , thus the fault current to trip is very low.  You should trust  the GFCI.  I would have the smoker checked by an electrician, well no i wouldn't because I am one.  It is better to be safe than sorry.
Dick in Emmett, Idaho

beefmann

i agree with having the smoker checked .. you  might  have some type of  voltage  going through the ground conductor of the unit  ( the neutral  would be normal ) which would trip the gfi only way to find this out is to put the smoker on a regular recptical that is not protected by gfi and with a volt meter touch one  lead to the bare metal of the case  or  bare  screw and the screw on the recptical and if you have a voltage reading you  have a device that  is leaking  voltage through ground typically  it would be connections, the puck advance motor or  heater  connections. also check the insulation of the conductors carefully for any  cracks, frays or damage and replace if necessary.

by the  way im an electrical contractor

beefmann

dick621

Hello Beefman,  I'm a contractor to.  where you located.
Dick in Emmett, Idaho

beefmann

Tenpoint5