• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

New Member With Questions

Started by JJC, December 20, 2004, 01:30:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JJC

Hi All,

I'm a brand new member of the forum, having just received my BS today as an early Christmas gift from my very understanding wife of 25 years.  The last gift she gave me that I have been so excited about (except, of course, for our 3 terrific kids) was my first flyrod on our wedding day.

I've been smoking mainly fish for the past twenty years, using an electric bullet-type smoker.  I've had pretty good luck with turkey and chicken.  One of the best things about the BS seems to be its versatility, and I can't wait to expand my repertoire to ribs, cheese, pork, etc. I am truly looking forward to relegating my old smoker to back-up status, though it has helped me achieve "most favored neighbor" status for my smoked salmon and bluefish, smoked fish pate, and pistachio nuts.  I'd be happy to share the recipes if folks are interested.

Perusing the forum makes me feel like I've died and gone to heaven--the wealth of knowledge is incredible!  I can't wait to try Kummock salmon and the T-shirt method, among several others.

I plan to follow the break-in procedure to the letter--following protocol being an unavoidable part of being a scientist, I'm afraid--but I do have a couple of related questions:  Do the members recommend a temperature probe to monitor the air temp inside the smoker? Is there a meat thermometer that folks recommend?  I'd be especially interested in a "remote" version that would wirelessly alert me when  particular temp has been achieved.

Thanks to all for what I've learned already, and I'm looking forward to being an active part of the conversation.

John
Newton MA
John
Newton MA

Habanero Smoker

Welcome to the forum. The Maverick ET-73 it the preferred thermometer for monitoring the meat and chamber temperatures http://www.thegadgetsource.com/011502013733.html .

I