• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Connecting the Auber PID to OBS

Started by mjack1957, January 02, 2009, 12:34:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mjack1957

Are there any posts / diagrams showing how the PID is connected to the OBS?  I know it might seem like a stupid newbie question, but guess what; I'm a newbie.

deb415611

There are no stupid questions mjack

I'm not sure how this is going to look - hopefully you can see it well enough.  It's the page out of the Auber plugnplay manual

Deb

mjack1957

Thank you Deb.  Do you know if Auber has a link on their site to download the manual?  I looked but didn't see it.

Mr Walleye

Mjack

Last time I talked to Auber he was in the process of adding them to his site. I know he did get most of the manuals setup on the site but at that time he indicated the Plug & Play manuals weren't done yet. If you don't see it there just send him an email. He is really good a responding quickly.

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

mjack1957

The Auber PID came and I connected it to the OBS.  My question is this. Once I set the desired cooking time and temp, will the timer start once the smoke chamber reaches the set cooking temp or does the timer start counting immediately.  Also, does the PID disengage the temp slider at the bottom of the smoke chamber?

In other words, if I want to smoke at 220 for 3.5 hours, will the PID begin counting the 3.5 hours once the internal temperature of the smoking chamber climbs to 220 or will it be counting the time while the chamber climbs to that temp.  I hope this is not a dumb question.  I read their manual but really couldn't figure this part out.

Mr Walleye

MJack

I can only answer one of your questions. You want to always keep the temp slider all the way to the right (full power). This allows the PID full control to do it's thing.

I can't help you on the timer question, I'm sure someone will be along that can though.

Mike