• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Anyone ever try to smoke a veal breast?

Started by Smoking Duck, January 03, 2009, 06:24:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smoking Duck

The grocery store had some in the meat section.....I assume they were a special order that someone ordered but didn't pick up as I've never seen them there before.

Anyways, they had the veal breat on sale for $1.31/lb which I thought was a very reasonable price, however, I've never cooked/smoked veal breast.  It seemed to me to be part brisket/part spare rib in texture.  They were very small in size (about 2-3 lbs) and they had 3 pieces.  I just couldn't pull the trigger as I have no experience and wonder if anyone here has.

Thanks!

SD

Steeler....she's a keeper!

Who doesn't love lab puppies?

Click here for my blog: La Cosa Smokestra

Habanero Smoker

I've never cooked them. After doing a search, they sound like an interesting cut to cook. Most recipes involved stuffing them, but from the area they are cut from I would smoke/cook them like short ribs.

I'm doing a batch of short ribs today for the the first time. I'm going to season some with just kosher salt and coarse pepper, and season the other Asian style. I'm figuring 1:40 hours of oak smoke or maybe the J.D. bisquettes, and a total smoke/cook time of 6 hours at 220°F.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Smoking Duck

I did the search like you did, Habs and there definitely were some interesting ways to cook them.  The breast definitely had a good mixture of fat and meat which led me to believe they would be great smoked.  I think the normal price was around $5/pound but they were marked down $1.31/pound.  Maybe I'll talk the wife into letting me go back there and I'll try them with some pics.  Sounds like they haven't been done here before and maybe I can be the guineau pig.

SD

Habanero Smoker

If you get them definately post how they turned out.