First try at Venison snack sticks....

Started by Wattles, February 07, 2009, 07:51:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wattles

...any words of wisdom?

this is my first time giving these a go.  100% venison pepperoni snack sticks.

they will go in the bradley smoker tomorrow...

NePaSmoKer

They look nice.

Did you cut the venison with some pork butt?

And did you use make your own ingrediets like pepper, salt and that.

nepas

Wattles

no, took the easy way out i guess.
hi mountain seasoning/cure
no pork, all venison

better with pork?

any other seasoning tips ALWAYS appreciated!

thanks!

Buck36

Quote from: Wattles on February 07, 2009, 08:46:31 PM
no pork, all venison

better with pork?

That is the way I do mine. I have used pork butt and the added fat does give it a great taste but I prefer all venison. The sticks look good! Send them my way if you don't like 'em!  ;D

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: Wattles on February 07, 2009, 08:46:31 PM
no, took the easy way out i guess.
hi mountain seasoning/cure
no pork, all venison

better with pork?

any other seasoning tips ALWAYS appreciated!

thanks!

The venison as you know is pretty lean. Sausage of any kind needs to have some sort of fat. This is for flavor and helps with shrinkage.

You should be ok with the sticks. Just watch so you don't put too much heat to em.

As far as seasonings go, Its personal preference i guess. I don't like or use HM, another time maybe.

nepas

Wattles

sorry about posting in the wrong board...

nepa, we must be close to one another, i live in mahoning valley...