Introduction...

Started by SoupGuy, March 05, 2005, 07:20:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SoupGuy

Hi all... am impressed at what I have read here and am sure I have the ability to contribute.

I've been smoking fish and meats for more than 13 years. I make a point of making friends with restaurant owners, sausage makers, fishermen and meat distributors and pick their brains (and wholesale prices) in my quest to produce a saleable product or two, or more.

I presently am using my fourth-generation custom smokehouse. It cost a fortune to make and am sure I would have done better buying a commercial smoker... but thats another story.

There are a lot of good recipes here for smoking salmon. I hope to be able to contribute by offering FRUGAL advice (cut your costs) and SAFETY advice (there is a lack of mention of proper safety here).

I use a very BASIC brine recipe that many of you can use as a starter. I am not a big believer in adding a whole lot of spices and flavorings to the brine. These cost a BUNDLE and in many cases leave little or nothing to the resulting flavor of your finished product.

If you want to make a great smoked salmon, you do NOT need a complicated brine recipe! If you would like to create YOUR OWN special offering, start with the basic product and add your own variations.

BASIC SMOKED SALMON: (we sell a lot of this 'as is' to restaurants)

Using whole boneless fillets: (if they have skin on, we suggest removing it for a lot of reasons)

BRINE:

4 Gallons fresh water
5 LBS Kosher Salt (don't want iodine!)
2 LBS Pure Cane Brown Sugar (beware the molassis crap!) Use C&H brand
(MIX WELL)

Make sure you're brine is between 34 and 38 degrees if you want to avoid botulism poisoning. We do NOT add sodium nitrite (another important thing you should educate yourself on!!! Will explain if you ask). Use a coleman (or other) cooler that fits in your fridge).