Hello All! Have questions and need to make a deccision

Started by Thor, December 27, 2009, 10:17:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thor

Greetings,  I have limited experience in smoking and have several questions about the Bradley vs other brands/types.   Against my wishes The Admiral (wife) ordered a black 30'' Masterbuilt digital smoker from QVC for my gift (she got a big Kitchen Aid).  Well it is now 2 days after Xmas and UPS tracking shows it still sitting in Louisville, KY (since the 17th).  I suspect they damaged it and are waiting till after the rush to address these issues.   So that order may get canceled and I am looking to make sure we make the best choice for us (me).   

4 years ago I bought a Brinkman big vertical charcoal smoker  with the side firebox (Smoke King, i think).  This thing is a real pain to use and I find I smoke less and less each year because I can't even run to the hardware store on Sunday afternoon without the temps radically swinging.  So, the idea of these little electric smokers has a lot of appeal.   I had never considered a "engineered wood" smoker because it just sounded unnatural, expensive, unhealthy, etc.   But as long as the briquettes are not putting a bunch of nasty chemicals into the food I will consider it.  Someone please convince me this method will not cause cancer and is safe.  (Just had a thought....All those Kingsford briquettes I use are an engineered "wood" product also.  I never thought of those as being a problem...hmmm)  However,  I am always hesitant to get locked into a specific manufacture's consumables.  Prices can go up, availability can change etc.   Are there other wood products that can be used with the Bradley or "homebrew" recipes ?   To smoke for 8-10 hours with the Brinkman it costs about $8.00 in charcoal and $4 in wood chunks.   Any cost estimates with the Bradely using Bradley Briquettes and  say .12-.13 cents per kw hour?