Total N00b looking for answers about DBS

Started by LordofTime, July 02, 2010, 09:15:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LordofTime

Hey all.  I'm really interested in getting a Bradley Smoker because I use to be a big grill man but ever since an injury to my knee I can no longer stand any longer the time needed to grill the food.  So since my family loves my BBQ and I don't want to give it up I started looking on the net and came across this machine.  I have a few questions if anyone has the time to answer them for me it would be appreciated :) 

I have ZERO experience with this machine or cooking with anything like it.  Since I'm totally clueless and don't feel like constantly fidgeting with a temperature lever at the bottom of the unit (and I hear that lever breaks often too) I was considering getting the digital model but wanted to make sure it was the right decision considering it's 150.00 more than the OBS.

1.)  Is using the Digital model really that more accurate than just guessestimating with the Original?  I mean if I wanted to say cook something for 4 hours/smoke 2 hours at 210 degrees and set that on the machine will it maintain that temperature the full 4 hours or will it constantly fluctuate even after the initial recovery?

2.)  I hear that the machine turns off once it hits the target temperature you set it at so that the heating element constantly has to turn on and recover to maintain the target temp.  So if I wanted to cook something at 210 then I would want to set the machine at 220 so that when it kicks off it won't dip below the desired cooking temperature.