Salmon Question

Started by watchdog56, July 12, 2010, 05:42:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

watchdog56

I have about 4 lbs of coho salmon and 4 lbs of lake trout I plan on smoking using Kummok's recipe. The only problem I see is I did not scale the fish before filleting them. Should I try to get the scales off before putting fish in brine or should I just take the skin off? Also if I brine overnight will leaving fillets out at room temp to form pellicle be ok or should I leave in frig overnight to form pellicle? If I leave in frig to form pellicle I will probably have to brine for 24 hours. Also once the fish are done smoking and before putting in vacuum bags should I remove skin? I will  go slow staring at 110 for 2 hours then 140 for 4 hours them 170 for 2 hours. I will be gone at a family reunion so I am not sure if I will be around when done. I will smoke for 2 hours starting the first 2 hours of the 140 cycle.

Smoking Duck

Hey Watchdog,

I'm no expert but I'll try to answer your questions as best as possible.