Fish Smoking Question

Started by Scottie's Gourmet Meats, December 24, 2010, 11:17:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scottie's Gourmet Meats

Ok, so I have been smoking fish for a couple of years now in a large home built smoker, and have smoked hundreds of lbs of fish in a simple salt brine (sorry, grandma made me promise I wouldn't give out the exact recipe! ;D :D ;) ). I get the fish frozen, i have a buddy that is a fish broker and I get great fish that is fresh frozen at sea and I get it CHEAP!Anyway, I thaw it, filet it, brine it, smoke it, then let it cool and vacuum pack it. Nobody I know has ever gotten sick from this, but I am reading about botulism on this forum, now do I need to be worried? My fish has a fairly high salt content, which of course is a natural preservative.
Kummok? Any input? Sounds like you know quite a bit about this stuff.... Anyways, I will take all the input I can get.
Thanks!
Oh yeah, and I keep it refridgerated at 36F after vacuum packed for up to 60 days max (it usually doesn't last that long) but if it goes longer than that, I freeze it.

Thanks again!
Scottie Gourmet Meats!

Smokeville

Hi Scottie;

Here in Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency has posted that vacuum sealed smoked fish must be frozen unless it meets certain criteria such as being heat processed after packing or has a certain salt content. The salt content must be verified according to certain guidelines. This document has found it's way into some FDA guidelines I have found.

Check this thread for more information....

Also, a number of commercially sold products have a "Product Care" label that tells the purchaser to cut a slit in the bag before defrosting overnight in the fridge. Although it doesn't say give the reason, this is to release the vacuum which is what provides the environment where botulism can thrive.

So, what's the risk?