• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Oven Bags V Foil

Started by PyratSteve, December 16, 2011, 09:23:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PyratSteve

Has anyone finished ribs off in oven bags rather than foil?  The idea has merit to me but I'd love to hear from those who may have tried this.

Habanero Smoker

Hi PyratSteve;

Welcome to the forum.

It does sound logical, but sometimes you just don't know until you try. Thinking out loud, when ribs are wrapped in foil they are tightly wrapped. When you place food in oven bags, you can't get it that tight. So I'm wondering if the bags will have an effect on the braising.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Shadow beb

Hi all,

I have been smoking ribs and pork butt for 5+ years and I have to say... my ribs never turn out that great when I use the smoker the whole time... It is embarrassing! I host an event called "Rib-a-palozza" TM. 3 times a year and always lose to my buddy Sean... hate the guy!

His secret? He uses OVEN BAGS! We go side by side, I wrap in HD foil and cook the same amount of time... but mine turn out tough and his fall off the bone!

Last weekend I tried a new approach at home: A traditional KC style rub with some espresso grounds added... smoked with Jack Daniels wood for 2 1/2 hours, paced in OVEN BAGS with 1 bottle of squeeze Parkay for moisture. One bag had a small hole for steam, the other was sealed shut. After 2 hours they were falling off the bone! A quick sear on the grill with some smoked chipotle sauce and we were dancing! The one with no whole was more tender, I suspect the steam had something to do with it.

There is my two cents, I hope I win the next cook off!

Arizona Bilski

NePaSmoKer

Might as well just boil em then and slap bbq sauce on em

Shadow beb

Hi NePa-