KIMCHI UPDATE

Started by Keymaster, April 21, 2012, 06:37:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Keymaster

This is my first try at making my own Kimchi. I purchased the Book " Sauerkraut, Kimchi, Pickles and Relish" By Stanley Marianski and His brother Adam.
Started out with 2 heads of napa Cabbage.

Then I made a brine of three cups of salt to 4 quarts of water and soaked the cabbage for three hours.

Then triple rinsed it in the salad spinner

Chopped up the cabbage in 2" slices and then cut the Scallions, Finely diced the ginger root, Red pepper powder, Crushed 3 cloves of garlic and got the salt and sugar ready for mixing.

Mixed in all the spices and goodness...

Put it in the homemade fermintation jar for a three day ride, or maybe more....

muebe

Key I absolutely love Kimchi!

I thought that you would bury it in the ground in a clay pot ;)

Looking forward to your results and I may need to try this.
Natural Gas 4 burner stainless RED with auto-clean
2 TBEs(1 natural gas & 1 LP gas)
OBS(Auberins dual probe PID, 900w finned element & convection fan mods)
2011 Memphis Select Pellet Smoker
BBQ Grillware vertical smoker(oven thermostat installed & converted to natural gas)

mikecorn.1

What's the thingamagigy on top of the jar do? 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

muebe

Quote from: mikecorn.1 on April 21, 2012, 06:45:42 PM

During the fermentation process gas is created. That allows the gas to escape the jar and keep air from getting in. The color in the water is so you can tell when the water is low.

Although I could be completely wrong Mike.... not the first time ;)
BBQ Grillware vertical smoker(oven thermostat installed & converted to natural gas)

Keymaster

Quote from: muebe on April 21, 2012, 06:49:32 PM
Quote from: mikecorn.1 on April 21, 2012, 06:45:42 PM

During the fermentation process gas is created. That allows the gas to escape the jar and keep air from getting in. The color in the water is so you can tell when the water is low.