Pulled Pork Smoke Amount Question

Started by OldHoss, October 19, 2012, 12:24:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OldHoss

I am getting ready to do my first Pork Butt and am a little concerned about smoke amount.  I have a 6 pound bone in butt and figure I will be cooking it for 12 hours or so.  I plan to use hickory wood.  I like a healthy amount of smoke in my meat but am pretty sure 12 hours of smoke in the Bradley is too much.  I have read a few recipies here and one calls for 4 hours of smoke for a pork butt.  Can I get some input here folks?   Also give me opinions on wood to use for pork butts....I have apple and Jim Beam bisqettes on hand as wll.  I have read apple is good to use for butts.....I love hickory and this is my first attempt at smoking pulled pork so I figured I'd stick with what I like.  12 hours of hickory smoke in anything kinda scares me though.
If you have it - smoke it.

KyNola

4 hours of smoke should be plenty.  12 hours of smoke in the Bradley is overkill.  There is a theory that once meat reaches an IT of 140 that it will no longer accept smoke.  Whether it is true or not, who knows?

Smokin Soon

beefmann

mikecorn.1

I also do four.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

rexster

Depends on how big your butt is. 4 hrs minimum, but since I like a lot of smoke flavor, I'll go 5 to 6 if it's a big one.
Stainless 4 rack Bradley
6 Rack DBS w/second heat element
Auber PID
7 Foot X 20" Pipe BBQ pit with offset firebox
Jenn-Air 75000 btu gas grill w/sear burner
Weber Performer charcoal grill
Portable Kitchen All Aluminum Charcoal Grill
2 MES 40" smokers
PK360 Grill
Vacmaster 320 Vacuum Chamber Sealer

OldHoss

Quote from: rexster on October 19, 2012, 04:00:03 PM
Depends on how big your butt is. 4 hrs minimum, but since I like a lot of smoke flavor, I'll go 5 to 6 if it's a big one.

My butt is 6 pounds.