two meats at once

Started by wrs75, December 01, 2012, 05:32:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wrs75

i am new to smoking, i am using a new obs . i am going to do a brisket and thought about a loin also should i let the brisket go several hours then put the loin in and more smoke.i know the loin will cook alot faster than brisket. any suggestions appreciated.

GusRobin

How big is the brisket? I have done 12 lb that have taken 15 hours. So be prepared.

I would start with the brisket and smoke and when you add the loin I would add more smoke.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

Ka Honu

I've done a brisket-butt mix and would probably use a similar technique by setting up the smoker for five hours of smoke.  I'd put the brisket in for 1-2 hours and then add the loin for the remaining 3-4 hours (or until it's done - whichever comes first).  Then pull the loin when it's finished and keep cooking the brisket until it hollers.

Consooger

Quote from: Ka Honu on December 01, 2012, 06:08:13 PM
I've done a brisket-butt mix and would probably use a similar technique by setting up the smoker for five hours of smoke.  I'd put the brisket in for 1-2 hours and then add the loin for the remaining 3-4 hours (or until it's done - whichever comes first).  Then pull the loin when it's finished and keep cooking the brisket until it hollers.

What he said!
"Telling you to invest in smoking your own jerky because buying it so much was getting way too expensive was the worst thing I could have ever done to us, now look at the monster I have created!" :-)
               -My Wife

wrs75