Buckboard Bacon Cure

Started by Tiny Tim, April 06, 2007, 12:49:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tiny Tim

Okay, here's the deal, I have a loin that I'm cutting into thirds.  One will be sliced for chops, one will be smoked and sliced for lunch meat, and I'm still debating what to do with the third.  I have remembered that I have some Buckboard Bacon Cure just sitting around waiting for me to use it, and I thought maybe I'd give that a try on the loin.  My questions are:

1.  Would this work well on a loin?

2.  If I were to rub the BB Cure on the loin tonight (Friday, Apr. 6th), is there a chance that I'd be safe smoking it on Sunday the 15th (8.5 days from rub)?

Gizmo

I am not an expert on the curing and have only done the loin once for canadian bacon (almost, no peameal), and did the cure for 6 days.  I would doubt 2 more days would make a difference.  Posts here have shown some cure belly bacon for 20 days.
Biggest suggestion I could give is make sure you rinse well.
Click here for our time proven and tested recipes - http://www.susanminor.org/

Habanero Smoker

I've never used buckboard cure, so I really can't answer your question. MW is more familiar with that cure. Premixed cures are different, because some are just mixed with salt, some with sugars and salts, and others may add buffers. This means that the amount of nitrate or nitrite per measurement will vary. It is best to follow the instructions that came with the cure. Dry curing is more forgiving then brining (pickle), so if you applied enough rub it should come out alright.