Help Required! Building a Smoker

Started by justwandr, March 15, 2010, 09:41:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

justwandr

I have been on the forums for months now reading through everyones experience of building their own smokers. I have been inspired to do this myself many times only to give up on the idea later. There is lots of great help available here and I have finally decided I am going to give this a try regardless of the results.

I have been able to obtain a standard size stainless steel food warmer/proofer which works. Which is in good shape and fully insulated. I am not very good at this or have the know how considering this would definitely be one of the first things I am going to build in my life.

I will take any help I can get so please feel free to help with these questions.

- Should I strip the unit of its entire burner unit or just remove the heating element?

- I have three phase power available. I do not want to wait forever for the smoker to get to the right temp...any links to heating elements would be good. I guess I would like to have one big one rather then 2-3 three small ones long as I can control the temperature.

- It seems 4" vent on the top seems to be standard. Is that Okay?

- I should be able to put the smoke generator on the side without too many issues.

Is there anything else that needs to be done?

ArnieM

Sounds like an interesting project JW.  I think more specifics about what you have to start with, including dimensions and pictures, would allow people to comment on your approach.  We'd love to help but there's not much info in your first post.
-- Arnie

Where there's smoke, there's food.

justwandr

Thanks. I should have added the pictures earlier but here  they are...

Tenpoint5