desperatley seeking salmon (help)

Started by bigredsmoker, January 03, 2008, 03:07:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bigredsmoker

OK I'm a newby and I think I made a mistake in shopping. I wanted to do some smoked salmon so I went to Sam;s club and bought what I thought were 3 salmon filets with skin on. They said steelhead on them and being a salmon novice I didn't think anything of it. Then I start reading a lot of Salmon posts and there are no references to steelhead. Then I research and I find out is a trout. So, am I smoking trout or some type of salmon. I am very confused. So far I brined using Kumoks brine for 12 hours and now I am drying in the garage at about 38 degrees overnight. I am including a picture of my fish (steelhead or whatever). Are these going to turn out good?? Do I do the rest of the recipe as Kumok describes??? Please help, these are for a big party I am having Saturday and I want them to come out good.

Thanks!

Terry

Wildcat

I have not smoked fish yet, but I would imagine that recipe is good for any fish.  There are some fish experts on here that should be along before long.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

Mr Walleye

I can't answer much for you except that steelhead are almost inbetween rainbow trout and salmon. They live in salt water and spawn in fresh water. That's about the extent of my knowledge on them. They have a very similar flesh and oil content so I don't see any reason they won't turn out fine using Kumox's recipe.

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

Smoking Duck

We catch steelhead quite a bit in Lake Michigan and the rivers around here.......you'll have no problems Terry.  In fact, other than fishermen, not sure if many could tell you the difference between the two when it comes to preparing them.

Good luck!

Steeler....she's a keeper!

Who doesn't love lab puppies?

Click here for my blog: La Cosa Smokestra