First GO at Smoked Kielbasa: MANY Photos...

Started by Kevin A, May 28, 2011, 05:26:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin A

This is my first attempt at smoking 'cured' sausage—'polish kielbasa'— after spending the past few weekends creating piles of 'fresh' sausages for the troops. This is no small feat as the standard was set by my wife's polish grandmother year's ago. Her 'polska wędzona kiełbasa' is what I'll try to replicate. Although the recipe is pretty basic (salt, pepper, garlic, marjoram), there are expectations to be met!

First, as grandma did, I cubed a portion of the lean into 1/2" cubes (about 3.5lbs):

I added a third of the total cure to the cubes & refrigerated this overnight:

This morning, I ground the rest of the pork (about 7.5lbs) through a 4.5mm plate:

Like I said, the recipe is pretty straight-forward. Ingredients ready:

Friday night, FedEx dropped off a package containing this: Kirby's solution to mixing larger quantities of sausage: The Kirby Mixer!

Looking down the spindle, you can see the mixing blade:

Both meats loaded (cubed & ground)— about 11 lbs total:

All spices, garlic & water added:

Lid snapped on, power drill attached & ready to go. I sat on a chair with my feet on the board on both sides of the bucket:

This is the result after only 30-40 seconds of mixing (raising & plunging the drill as one does in mixing mortar, thinset, etc). Very thorough & well-mixed. Pretty amazing for 10+ pounds!

ON TO THE STUFFING:
Nice morning to be outside, so got the kirby cannon set up for action. The lazy susan comes in very handy for long ropes.

11+pounds loaded!

Phase One Done: I've now two large plate-loads of fresh kielbasa. Next step is to prep the smoker. These will sit in the fridge overnight.

More to come.....

Kevin

ghost9mm

WOW... Kevin that looks like something out of a professional handbook on how to make kielbasa..and the pictures and the ID of the spices are awesome...well done my friend...